Formerly the north parish of Farmington, Avon was primarily a farming community until its location at the crossroads of the Albany Turnpike and Farmington Canal led to the emergence of a commercial center. For 20 years, travelers on the old Canal dined and slept here on their way north and south. The 1st Co. Gov. Horse Guards, founded in 1778, is the nation’s oldest cavalry unit.
Town Hall: 60 W. Main St., Rte 44, Avon, CT 06001 | 860-409-4300 | www.town.avon.ct.us
Chamber of Commerce: 860-675-4832 | www.avonchamber.com
Acres of open space. Miles of Blue Trail. The most scenic stretch of the Farmington Valley Trail along the river. The Cider Mill. A one-room schoolhouse. Sessions Woods. The spring-fed Fish Hatchery. Nassahegan Recreation Fields. The unspoiled natural respite that is spectacularly Burlington.
Town Hall: 200 Spielman Highway, Burlington, CT 06013 | 860-673-6789 | www.burlingtonct.us
Chamber of Commerce: 860-255-8677 | www.burlingtonctchamber.com
A quaint slice of New England founded in 1806 in the maple-lined western hills of the Farmington River Valley. Antique homes and rustic barns are visible throughout the four villages that comprise Canton and are enhanced by the river setting of the historic Collinsville Axe Company, the center of a lively artist community. The Victorian accoutrements of this authentic 19th-century single mill town are on display at the Canton Historical Museum.
Town Hall: 4 Market St., Collinsville, CT 06022 | 860-693-7870 | www.townofcantonct.org
Chamber of Commerce: 860-693-0405
In 1859, Turkey Hills separated from Granby to become East Granby. In the early 1700s, America’s first discovery of copper occurred here, and Connecticut’s first state prison was established at the site of a copper mine in 1773. Tories were imprisoned in its dark, cold tunnels during the American Revolution. Today you can walk through these underground caverns at the Old Newgate Prison and Copper Mine.
Town Hall: 9 Center St., E. Granby, CT 06026 | 860-653-2756
Settled in 1640, Farmington is known for its history, charm, stately homes, quaint lodgings, superb restaurants, Miss Porter’s school, antiques, Farmington Historical Society, Unionville Museum, shopping, ballooning, river rafting, and much more! The Stanley-Whitman House exhibits Colonial lifestyles. The beautiful Hill-Stead Museum contains Pope family treasures which include Impressionist works by Monet, Degas, Manet. Take a walking tour of the Amistad or Underground Railroad through the Historical Society. Come experience Farmington, past and present!
Town Hall: 1 Monteith Dr., off Rte. 4, Farmington, CT 06032 | 860-675-2300 | www.farmington-ct.org
Chamber of Commerce: 860-676-8490 | www.farmingtonchamber.com
Some of Simsbury’s earliest folks settled north along Salmon Brook, and took that name when establishing their own church society in 1739. A half century later, Salmon Brook along with Turkey Hills became the town of Granby. Until recently, Granby was primarily a farming town, as cash crops were derived from apple orchards, dairy herds, and shade-grown tobacco. Exhibits from the town’s rural past are found at the Salmon Brook Historical Society.
Town Hall: 15 N. Granby Rd., Granby, CT 06035 | 860-844-5308 | www.granby-ct.gov
Located in the foothills of the Berkshires, New Hartford is a quaint New England town of 6200 people. The Farmington River, designated a “National Wild and Scenic” river, winds through and ofers canoeing, tubing, and year-round trophy trout fishing. In the winter months, day and night skiing is available at Ski Sundown. Large tracts of wooded land — including the Nepaug State Forest — offer miles of hiking and breathtaking views. Additionally, a variety of eating establishments, art galleries, antique shops, and 2 local wineries add to the allure of this beautiful town.
Town Hall: 530 Main St., New Hartford, CT 06057 | 860-379-5037 | www.town.new-hartford.ct.us
New Hartford Business Council: 860-309-5393 | www.newhartfordbusinesscouncil.org
Simsbury is steeped in history and possesses great natural beauty from the Farmington River’s Tariffville Gorge to the hiking trails that crisscross its hills. Simsbury is also home to Connecticut’s largest tree, the Pinchot Sycamore, a rare 19th-century iron bridge that blooms with colorful plantings each year and the Phelps Tavern Museum & Homestead, where visitors experience rural New England tavern life from 1786-1849.
Town Hall: 933 Hopmeadow St., Simsbury, CT 06070 | 860-658-3200 | www.simsbury-ct.gov
Chamber of Commerce: 749 Hopmeadow St., Simsbury, CT 06070 | 860-651-7307 | www.simsburycoc.org
Tourism Committee: 860-658-4000
Culture, Parks, and Recreation: 860-658-3836
Simsbury Mainstreet Partnership: 860-658-8577 | www.shopsimsbury.com